Josephmallozzi's Weblog

Remember that episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation where Picard ends up living out his entire life on some alien world and then, at episode’s end, after decades have passed and he’s a very old man, he discovers it was all a temporal ruse?  Well, that happened to me today.  Sort of.  Except instead of an alien world, it was the FedEx office on the corner of West Broadway and Cypress.  There’s no such thing as a quick stop to send a package.  Whenever I go, it’s like entering some sort of chrono dilation field where time and customer service no longer adhere to the rules of physics.  It seems like a lifetime passes for me in that slow moving line and yet, whenever I exit, I’m surprised to discover it’s only been half an hour or so.

Summer is upon us and that means afternoons spent out in…

View original post 412 more words

