Josephmallozzi's Weblog

In a previous blog entry, I ranted about the shit book recommendations put forth by numerous reputable websites.  It would seem that, in many cases, the quality of the work is of much less importance than the connections of the author.  Well, someone recently directed me to BBC.com’s “books” section which offers up a monthly list of suggested titles.  They’re a varied lot and some may not be to your taste, but take a chance (like I did) and you’ll be pleasantly surprised (like I was).

Or, you can check out any of the following books – “My Favorite 5 Recent Reads”:

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley by Hannah Tinti (General Fiction)

After years spent living on the run, Samuel Hawley moves with his teenage daughter, Loo, to Olympus, Massachusetts. There, in his late wife’s hometown, Hawley finds work as a fisherman, while Loo struggles to fit in at school…

View original post 812 more words

