Josephmallozzi's Weblog

The first time I met Author X was at a Comic Con party.  We were introduced through a mutual friend.  I didn’t really know much about him but had seen his big fat books at my local bookshop.  As we shook hands, I congratulated him on his success and told him I was looking forward to reading his work as I’d heard very good things.  I was only some five seconds into addressing him, on the tail end of our handshake, when I realized he wasn’t listening to a word I was saying. Instead, his focus had already shifted to the room at large as he scoped the area for more interesting contacts.  I walked off without finishing my sentence.  He didn’t seem to notice.

The second time I met Author X was at a bar, again in the company of that mutual friend.  We were re-introduced but, so far…

View original post 286 more words

