Josephmallozzi's Weblog

img_9913img_9910

I love Tokyo at night.  The bright lights.  The flashing neon.  The sights.  The sounds.  Throw in the time difference, a touch of jet lag, and you have an almost surreal experience Anthony Bourdain once likened to the sensation of dropping acid.

img_9882

After wandering about for half an hour, looking for somewhere to eat, Akemi and I finally ended up at a modest little Korean restaurant.  Pictured above: Akemi stares longingly at my hot plate.

img_9884

Yatta!  Her salad has arrived!

x

I ordered a hunk of beef.  First, they rendered the fat, then they seared the outside of the meat.  Every two minutes or so, a different staff member would stroll by and give it a flip.  I left the cooking to the professionals.

img_9901

And voila.  Served with two different dipping sauce – and the option to sear it up a little more for a well-done consistency.

img_9944

Wait!  Don’t go…

View original post 287 more words

