Josephmallozzi's Weblog

Wouldn’t that jar your preserves?

  • This one was my father’s.  He used to say it, with absolutely no sense of irony, on those occasions when something would burn his ass (another favorite expression of his).

Shuck!

  • This one was my mother’s.  I always assumed it was simply her Italian way of attempting “Shucks” until the day our neighbor told me: “Shuck?  Who is your mind trying to kid?”

Jesus Crisis!

  • One of many delightful Akemi-isms.  As Martin Gero pointed out: “It actually makes sense.”

We’ll burn that bridge when we come to it.

  • He may not be the original source, but I heard Executive Producer Elliot Sokolsky utter this little gem and I intended on making it my own.

I’m melty-sleepy!

  • Another Akemi-ism.  Definition: reeeaaally sleepy!

Don’t expect your parents or your money to last forever.

  • This one comes our way via Akemi’s grandmother – apparently a very practical woman.

View original post 117 more words

