Josephmallozzi's Weblog

1

It’s a Christmas holiday tradition.  I let my sister know when I’m coming into town and she books a bunch of dinners at some of Montreal’s best restaurants.  Last night, we kicked things off with a tremendous meal at LeBremner in Old Montreal.  The place is owned by celebrity Executive Chef Chuck Hughes with Top Chef Canada competitor Danny Smiles overseeing the kitchen action as Chef de Cuisine, and it’s one of Akemi’s favorites.

We were four and, since we were sharing, I opted for a thorough approach, pretty much ordering one of everything on the menu…  1

Raw scallops on the half shell.   Sweet, clean, and delicious.  Given the choice, I’ll always pick them over oysters.

1

Brown butter lamb heart, remoulade, bitter greens, and slaw.  Thinly sliced with a texture and flavor akin to gyu-tan (thinly sliced tongue grilled over charcoal).

1

Butter-poached whelks with Jerusalem artichoke chips and puree…

View original post 189 more words

