Josephmallozzi's Weblog

The first time I met Jay Firestone was about two years ago, while I was in town working on some nameless production.  My agent called to inform me that he had scheduled me a meeting with a very busy, very successful local producer.  I thought: “Sure, why not?”.  Ninety-nine percent of the time, these meet and greets amount to nothing, but my afternoon was wide open.  This, as it turned out, was in contrast to Jay’s afternoon which was peppered with meetings, phone calls, and pre, post, and production duties.  An average day for him.  I had been squeezed into his frenzied schedule, somewhere between a network conference call and a meeting with another producer and yet, despite the tight window, our sit-down was laid back, unrushed, and surprisingly entertaining.  I say surprisingly because, as anyone who has ever done these kind of meetings will tell you, they’re about as…

View original post 464 more words

